My first outdoor run!

New England continues to experience exceptionally nice early Spring weather.  Over the weekend it got up to the high 70s, and when I saw that was forecast to continue through the week, I decided I had run out of excuses not to try running outside, after a winter on the treadmill at the gym.

First there was the small matter of my monthly Lifetimer weigh in to get out of the way.  Weight Watchers once you to weigh in at least once a month within 2 lbs of your goal weight in order to maintain your no-pay status and continue to receive free access to the online tracking tools.  The earlier part of this month was dominated by my wisdom teeth removal, and the subsequent bloat caused by large doses of painkillers made weighing in the last two Mondays an unattractive option.  But yesterday morning, the home scale was kind, so I switched to my summer weigh-in outfit (shorts instead of pants) and got it over & done with.  Down 0.2 to 155.6, but I’m attributing that to the reduction in fabric in my clothing. LOL

Then I went out to my car, laced up my sneakers, and set off down the Hudson bike path.  I chose this route because it is flat, convenient and about half in shade.  Stupidly I had forgotten to bring any water with me, but I decided to go anyway.  I walked for one song to warm off and then selected my 5mph running playlist on my phone and set off.

The day could not have been nicer – warm, clear skies, and friendly fellow trail users.  I felt strong and confident and happy as I ran.  I made it to the parking lot at the end of the trail (about 1.5miles) before I took a break to walk for one song, mainly because my mouth was incredibly dry due to the lack of water.  But the walking break rejuvenated me enough to run back to Ariba, and then walk for one final song back to the car.  The last 4 minutes of running were a real slog, but I could see my destination ahead, so I selected my most upbeat track to listen to and powered on.

Final stats: 3.4 miles in 39 minutes, 31.30 of which was running.  Even more than a 5k!  I anticipate that I will do this route again regularly over the coming weeks, striving to improve upon my time – and remembering to bring a small water bottle in future!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My first outdoor run!

  1. -e- says:

    I’m getting an Amphipod — the handheld one. My outdoor route for walking/jogging loops past my car at least once so I can stop for a refill on hot days.

    http://www.amphipod.com/

Leave a Reply

