Feeling fruity

I ate an apple, a banana and some grapes yesterday.  This might not sound like anything momentous – but I couldn’t tell you the last time I voluntarily ate 3 different types of fruit in a day.  It was months, possibly years ago!

I am not the biggest fan of fruit, it has to be said.  I’m picky.  I don’t like citrus fruit at all.  Under the old WW plan, most veggies were zero points, but fruit was typically 1-2 points a serving.  I would eat 4-5 servings of veggies a day, but fruit rarely passed my lips.  In my mind, there was no point spending 2 points on a banana when I could have a cookie instead. 🙂

Under the new PointsPlus program, fruit is “free” – so I make myself eat it!  For example, I am waiting for a friend to come over for dinner and my tummy is rumbling.  I had the Wheat Thins packet in my hand, ready to dish out the recommended serving size of 16 crackers.  Then I calculated that it would be 3 points – so back into the cupboard they went!  I am eating a cup of grapes instead, and will spend that 3 points on some extra dinner.  We are making our own pizzas. I have been caramelizing onions for the past hour so the house smells divine. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Feeling fruity

  1. A says:

    I’m with you on being picky with fruit. I can eat citrus, but I loathe bananas. And everything fresh is SO EXPENSIVE, it makes me sick! I ate an apple today, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

