Superbowl Sunday

So I read that more calories are consumed by Americans on Superbowl Sunday than on any other day of the year except Thanksgiving!  That’s such a crazy statistic, and one I have no desire to be a part of.  Fortunately:

a) I’m not a football fan

b) many of the traditional Superbowl foods are just not appealing to me, whether I’m watching my weight or not (I’m not a fan of chili, spicy chicken wings or beer)

c) the friends who host our church’s annual Superbowl party have 4 cats, to which I am highly allergic.  The 2 years I went, my breathing was so badly affected that I’ve decided it’s just not worth it now.  I happily send my husband and son off to enjoy the festivities.  I will stay home with my little girl, who is sick with a cold anyway.

It’s been a reasonable week on program.  I had the same cold as my daughter now has from Mon-Wed, which meant I had no energy to exercise, but on the plus side my appetite was diminished as well.  I did manage the treadmill on Thursday & Zumba today.  I stuck to grapes and avoided the chips & dip at an after-work mingling event on Friday night.  My plans for today which would have involved navigating pizza and other goodies got canceled due to a forecast storm.  I’m hopeful that I’ve said goodbye to another couple of pounds this week.  I guess we’ll see on Monday at my weigh-in.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Superbowl Sunday

  1. Kim says:

    My plans for the day include eating lightly until suppertime, then having our annual appetizers-for-dinner meal with a few beers. But I got chopped veggies instead of chips for the dip, and I don’t have any desserts. I’m going to use all the weekly points I have left and really enjoy our annual tradition. I also have to start a new knitting project before the game starts so I have something to keep my fingers busy! Who wants to get spinach artichoke dip all over their knitting, anyhow? 🙂

  2. Amy says:

    I am a football fan, so I am going to said party. I am not a fan of chicken wings myself – too fussy and messy – so at least I have that working for me. However, I’m a chip hog, and I LOVE dip.

    I am bringing a healthy, filling dip to share, and using up my weekly flex points and activity points tonight… Maybe I should just put “Superbowl” in my tracker for 55 pts and call it a night! LOL!

  3. bbb75 says:

    That’s not a bad plan Amy! But maybe when you add it up, it won’t be as bad as you think.

    It’s times like this that picking Monday morning as my weigh-in time strikes me a a bad idea – no recovery time after the weekend!

Leave a Reply

