Inspiration in unusual places

I was reading a magazine the other day and was inspired by a quote from a Green Mountain coffee ad, of all things!

“I realized my day is better when I know what I want from it.”

For me, this made me think about planning.  The times I get into trouble on this healthy-eating journey are the times when I fail to plan.

For instance, sometimes I’ll find myself out running errands later than I expected – if I don’t have any fruit or healthy snacks in my purse, the temptation to pull into Dunkin’ Donuts and grab something unhealthy is very strong!  That unexpected 6-8 point snack can throw off my whole day.  Contrast that with a day like today, when I took the extra 10 minutes to plan & pack a lunch (chicken & salad sandwich and an apple) that I could bring with me in the car.  This enabled me to stay out and get all my errands done and still keep my points low.

Another trick I find helpful is figuring out the points for my dinner early in the day and entering them in my tracker, so I know exactly how many points I have left for snacks when the mid-afternoon munchies hit!

We also need to remain flexible.  I always do a Zumba class on Tuesday mornings when my daughter is in preschool, but yesterday we had snow and a 2 hour delay, so preschool was canceled.  I knew what I wanted (and needed!) from my day was some exercise, so I did Wii Zumba instead.  Grated, it wasn’t as many activity points as the class, but at least it was SOMETHING that inched me closer towards my goal.

I was recently at a conference for work, and they quoted Jim Rohn’s formula for success.  Intended to describe how to succeed in business, I thought it could equally well apply to Weight Watchers!

“Success is nothing more than a few simple disciplines, practiced every day.”

And the flip side of the same quote:

“Failure is not a single, cataclysmic event. You don’t fail overnight. Instead, failure is a few errors in judgment, repeated every day.”

I don’t know about you, but I am PLANNING to practice a few small disciplines every day that will inch me a few steps closer to success.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

