Wanting to be noticed

I keep hoping that people will notice my weight loss and comment on it, but it’s not really happening yet.  It doesn’t count when the compliments come from people who know I’m doing Weight Watchers.  You’d think 25 lbs would be noticeable, but apparently not!

I did a Skype video call with my inlaws today.  They remarked on my excess weight & health at Christmas, and this was the first time they’d “seen” me since then – but I got nothing.  On the other hand, I am wearing a black turtleneck, so maybe it’s just not that obvious in this outfit and through a webcam.

I am impatient for Spring, because I have so many cute short-sleeved shirts and cropped pants in size 14 and 16 that I am itching to wear again.  My winter clothes are too baggy and frankly I am bored of wearing the same 4 or 5 things that fit, but there doesn’t seem much point buying anything new at this stage.  By next winter, who knows what size I’ll be?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wanting to be noticed

  1. -e- says:

    I know what you mean, chica! I have gotten compliments from people but not as many as I had thought :/ I try to chalk it up to people not wanting to offend, if that makes any sense. And like you I’m hesitant to buy clothes that fit now LOL I’ve had a few pair of pants altered and did manage to scrounge up some tops that survived the closet purge of ’09. Keep at it, Becca – you’re my inspiration and motivation!

  2. Melissa says:

    I find that one of the hardest parts of the losing processes. You’re busting your tail and working so hard. You’re seeing good results on the scale and in your clothes and you hear…nothing!

    I think e is right in that many people do not want to offend. I think I was almost 30-35lbs down by the time I heard my first “Wow, you look great!” from a friend.

    Just remember, pretty soon you’ll be down so much the compliments and NSVs will be coming fast and furious. It’s just really tough until those first few WOWs! start coming in!

  3. Tami says:

    I was just lamenting this same fact with my husband. I, too, have lost 25 pounds and still not one single comment from anyone. I guess it will take another 25 before that will happen. Sigh…

Leave a Reply

