NSVs

NSV stands for non-scale victory, if you’re not familiar with the acronym.  I know sometimes I am guilty of getting too hung up on the number the white metal box gives me, when there are other very tangible measures of success.  Here are a handful I’ve experienced this week:

  1. Last July I won $150 worth of clothes from a British retailer in a contest.  I ordered 2 shirts for me, as well as some clothes for my daughter.  One of the shirts (gray) was initially snug & later unwearable as I gained weight.  The other (floral) was too tight for me to ever wear.  Last night I was getting dressed up to go out to dinner with my former boss, and I was searching through my closet for something that would make it obvious that I had lost 25 lbs since he last saw me.  First I tried on the gray one and it went on easily!  But I decided it didn’t go well with the pants I wanted to wear.  Gingerly I tried on the floral shirt – and it fit!!  I floated out of the house feeling like a million bucks.
  2. The song “Peacock” by Katy Perry has such a driving beat that it makes me want to run – so I did.  After warming up at 3.0 – 3.6mph on the treadmill for 30 minutes, I jogged at 3.9mph for the entire 3 minutes and 52 seconds of that song.  I was out of breath and dripping in sweat by the time I was done, but I DID IT!  I don’t think I have ever run for more than a minute as an adult before.
  3. I resisted the fresh focaccia bread basket when I was out to dinner last night.  I ate grapes in the car on the way there so I wouldn’t be ravenous.  I studied the menu and nutritional information in advance and stuck to my plan of what to order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

