Zumba!

I haven’t written much about my exercise routine.  Since January my goal has been to work out 3 times a week if I can.  On Thursdays I typically walk for 40 minutes, either on a treadmill if it’s nasty weather, or outside with a friend when I can.

On Tuesdays & Saturdays, I do Zumba.  They offer a class at our local town hall.  I like that rather than signing up for a session & losing money if you can’t make certain dates, the instructor offers a 10 class punch card for $72 with no expiry date.  The timings work nicely for me – on Tuesdays my daughter goes to preschool at 9am, and the class starts at 9.30.  It gives me time to work out, nip home for a quick shower, and then run some errands before collecting her at 12.  On Saturdays it’s at 8.30am, which is good because it doesn’t tend to impact the day’s family activities too much.

The class is technically a Zumba Gold class, which is designed for beginners and seniors.  However, I’ve found that the instructor is great at suggesting modifications to most of the moves to increase their intensity.  Instead of walking forward, you can skip.  If you raise your knees up higher, it increases the difficulty.  If you are struggling, you concentrate on the leg movements; when you have got the hang of it, you can add in arm motions.  I love to dance, and the upbeat music & fun atmosphere make the hour go quickly.  I have the CD in my car & my kids love the music!

I also love the fact that I am getting to know some of the older ladies in my small town.  They have great stories to tell and know EVERYONE!  I’ve learned a lot from them.  One lady is recovering from a heart attack, and is legally blind, but she manages the whole class – she is very inspiring.

I count the hour-long class as 5 activity points.  WW online doesn’t list Zumba as an activity option (which amazes me!) but I picked “jazz dancing” as the nearest equivalent.  I figure with occasional water breaks, I am moving for about 50 out of the 60 minutes.  I don’t normally eat my activity points anyway, so it doesn’t really matter.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Zumba!

  1. Melissa says:

    I’m surprised WW doesn’t list Zumba APs, it’s so popular!

  2. I was surprised to see that Zumba wasn’t in the list of activities either, especially since they have so many entries for Wii Fit. I usually just count mine as 60 minutes at a moderate intensity. I figure that averages out between the times of warm up, cool down, water breaks, etc. and the times of high intensity when we’re going full-steam. I’m probably under counting it, but I don’t usually eat my APs either, so I don’t worry about it too much.

Leave a Reply

