Lenses lie, but measurements are meaningful!

On Saturday I asked my husband to take progress photos of me, wearing the same sports bra & t-shirt I was wearing for my “before” photos 12 weeks ago.  I uploaded the new pictures, placed them side by side with the original ones – and promptly felt like crying!  There was so little visible difference.  I still had tummy rolls and back rolls and a pouch below my waist.  My arms looked exactly the same!  It was depressing.  I’ve lost 34 lbs and gone down at least 2 clothes sizes.  I felt like the difference ought to be more striking.

I am not up to posting the pictures publicly just yet, but my best friend was over so she took a look.  She reckoned that the difference was most noticeable in my face.  I could see that too – but it’s funny how our eyes are immediately drawn to our flaws.

Other friends encouraged me to take my measurements.  I’m pleased to say that the tape measure did show a tangible improvement!  Here’s the progress I’ve made in 12 weeks:

Measurements Was      Now   Change
Around fullest part of chest:                             49″      46″     -3″
Waist:                                                                    46″      43″     -3″
Pouch (unattractive bulge below my waist): 52″      48″     -4″
Hips:                                                                      48″      45″     -3″
Thigh:                                                                    27″       25″     -2″

Here are my weigh-in results after 12 weeks:

Biggest loser contest in Worcester 3/27/11:
199.2 lbs (their scale always weighs light).  Total 35 lbs lost in 12 weeks.  I was 5th overall in the contest, and the top-placed woman.

Weight Watchers 3/28/11:
201 lbs.  Total lost 34 lbs in 12 weeks.

At home:
I saw 199 this morning.  One-derland! Onederland is an old weight loss acronym for the first time your weight goes below 200 lbs.  In my head, this equates to “normality”…not that I am at goal, far from it, but that I am approaching a weight level and appearance that would classify me as “normal” to the man on the street – no longer worthy of particular comment for being too fat.  It’s a milestone, for sure….but I won’t claim it for real until it is reflected on the public scale at Weight Watchers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lenses lie, but measurements are meaningful!

  1. Even though it was on your home scale and not “official” yet, WTG on Onederland! I can’t wait to get back there again, too. 🙂 Keep up the great work!!

Leave a Reply

