Unexpected benefits of weight loss

Yesterday I went to the dentist for a cleaning.  For the past two or three years, my cleaning schedule has been every 4 months, because they thought my teeth were in bad enough shape that waiting 6 months between visits wasn’t the best plan.  Yesterday they were so impressed with the state of my teeth that they said I didn’t need to come back until October!  I have to think that this must be connected to the dramatic increase in my consumption of fruits & veggies and the reduction in my chocolate intake since the New Year, since I have not changed any of my specific dental habits like flossing or brushing in the last 4 months.  I’m calling it a happy, unexpected side benefit of weight loss!

Another happy accident has been free clothes.  As I am dropping sizes I’ve found that clothes swapping is the way to go.  Pass on your too-big duds and get ones that fit in return.  Some of my most complimented outfits are ones I got for free.  I am also enjoying using the gift checks that come in the Lane Bryant mini-catalogs in the mail.  I keep thinking that they must have made a mistake with the wording and nobody has spotted it yet!  I’m now on my 6th gift check since Christmas that is worded as “Get $15 off a minimum $15 purchase”.  There are no restrictions on using it for sale merchandise, so I head for the $14.99 rack and score free clothes!  Buying a button down, fitted purple shirt in a size 16 yesterday made my day – getting it free made it that much sweeter. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Unexpected benefits of weight loss

  1. Wow, that’s awesome about the LB gift checks. I wish they’d send some my way! 😆

Leave a Reply

