Challenges and victories

I went to a baby shower today.  We don’t have this tradition in England, so I have only ever been to a handful of them – mostly informal gatherings in friends’ homes or at my church.  However, I knew today’s event would be a little more upscale than that.  The invitations were formal and custom printed, like wedding ones.  It was held at a country club about an hour from where I live.  And I only knew 3 of the 50 people there.

I had no idea what to expect food-wise.  I’d saved a bunch of my weekly points, and I ate grapes in the car on the drive over so I didn’t arrive starving.  For an appetizer I had 3 crackers, a piece of cheese and some more grapes – this was before it was clear what the main meal would be.  It turned out to be a cold lunch buffet – rolls & deli meats, potato salad, pasta salad, chips etc..  I surveyed the offerings and tried to make the best choices I could.  I made an open face sandwich with one piece of wheat bread, turkey, lettuce & cucumber, and treated myself to a small pile of potato chips on the side.  I bypassed the mayonnaise-laden salads and the mimosas.

My biggest victory was the cake.  Normally it’s my downfall – but I took a couple of bites, and decided I actually didn’t really like it – and left the rest on my plate! People, this is HUGE.  The old Rebecca didn’t leave anything that was remotely edible!  I did indulge in a couple of small M&M cookies instead – they were very tasty, and I estimated them at 3 points each. I resisted the alcohol & drank coffee & tea instead.  I happened to be very tired from a busy weekend, so alcohol would have put me to sleep!

All the points were best guesses, but I think my weeklies will cover them.  The key is reining it in tonight and sticking to my daily points tomorrow, in hopes of having a decent weigh-in on Monday.  As long as I don’t see a gain I should achieve my pre-trip goal of One-derland.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Challenges and victories

  1. Melissa says:

    Great job! I find showers *really* difficult. You made good choices.

  2. Flo says:

    Way to go. You are really closing in on Onederland!

  3. Jennie says:

    Good job!

Leave a Reply

