Back to life, back to reality

Well, vacation was wonderful, but real life has hit with a bump!!  Between flight delays, a dead car battery, a sick kid, mountains of laundry, gray & dreary weather, and a work backlog – it has been a tough few days!

My pre-vacation weight was 189.5, and on Monday morning I was 192 on my home scale.  Although I did indulge in fries and desserts on vacation, as well as a few drinks, I also made plenty of healthy choices and walked a lot.  I attribute the 2.5 lb gain more to flying, and my almost-daily doses of Motrin for headaches brought on by alcohol or the sun.  It wasn’t a “real” gain, and as such I didn’t want to register it at an official weigh-in.  My theory was proved correct when after just 2 days of normal eating, I was back down to 189.5 this morning.  Now I have 5 more days to make genuine downward progress for a two week weigh-in result next Monday.

This damp, cold weather has many of my friends reaching for the comfort foods and forgoing exercise.  Motivation is certainly harder to come by when all you want to do is curl up under a blanket on the couch and eat chocolate!  But I’m sticking to my twice-weekly Zumba commitment, and I will try to squeeze in a walk if this rain ever ends….

Talking of Zumba, our instructor let slip yesterday that she has quietly upped the intensity of our classes, such that it is a really true Zumba class now and not Zumba Gold (for beginners and seniors).  Sneaky, but effective in getting us to push ourselves harder!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to life, back to reality

  1. -e- says:

    Totally late to the party on this but that’s about how much weight I lost when I was in CA LOL It was a bit of shock to see the scale that morning after my return but oh-so-worth it as I had some AMAZING meals while visiting one of my besties. Thankfully I lost it in the same amount of time I was gone but then I hit a plateau.

Leave a Reply

