Friends old and new

I just glanced at my blog stats and my jaw dropped.  After weeks of averaging 15-20 page views a day, suddenly in the last two days there are over 100 of you out there reading this blog.  I have no clue who linked you over here, but WELCOME to any new readers!  Feel free to comment & introduce yourself.

I met my friend Melissa for lunch today.  We go way back, we first met on a message board during my first round of weight loss back in the early 2000’s.  We lost touch in that post-kids haze, but reconnected last year.  She started her journey back to goal 11 months ago & made it this week, losing an astounding 107 lbs in the process.  Do check out her blog – she will make you laugh and think, which is a great combination!

Last time we met, we cursed that we hadn’t taken a progress picture.  So today we both came armed with our cameras.

What I think is interesting is how differently people carry their weight.  Melissa and I weigh roughly the same, about 174-176lbs.  She is an inch taller (although you can’t tell in this photo, because she only has socks on!) and does more exercise.  But her start weight was higher & she has more loose skin.  I am definitely bustier, and my baggy pants aren’t doing me any favors – I think it may be time to retire this pair!  Melissa can wear a size 12, whereas I am still in 16s (admittedly, they are getting loose, but most 14s are still too tight).  I still dislike the lines on my neck, but otherwise I feel like I look healthy and good in this picture, even with 20 lbs still to lose to hit goal.  We are two rockin’ mamas!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friends old and new

  1. Flo says:

    You both look amazing! Love the shoes, Melissa! And time to retire those baggy pants, Becca!

  2. bbb75 says:

    Flo, you are definitely coming to the next lunch! We are counting the days until September when our kids are in school and we can all talk without constant interruptions!

Leave a Reply

