New fashion options

With substantial weight loss comes a definite expansion of the fashion options available to me.  At 235 lbs, my main goal when dressing was disguise – camouflaging my lumps and bumps, making myself blend in.  Now, as I approach my goal weight, I find that I am embracing a new sense of style.

One thing that thrills my heart is that I can finally zip up my favorite knee high boots again.  They are Nine West black leather ones, and I bought them as a reward when I reached my goal weight the first time, 10 years ago.  One of the saddest realizations about regaining the weight was when they would no longer zip up around my calf.  I’m so thrilled that they now fit again, and have found myself searching out more knee length skirts & dresses to wear them with.

On Friday after my Wegmans adventure, I found myself with 20 minutes to kill before preschool pickup, so I popped into the new TJMaxx store next door.  I picked 5 sweater dresses to try and headed to the fitting room.  Some were definitely too tight, unflattering or made of material that was too itchy – but one hit the spot.  Nice and soft, muted gray tones, and it looked really good with those boots.  Here I am, modeling it before I wore it to church today.

There is no room to hide in a dress like this – but for the first time in many, many months, that’s not my primary consideration.  Yes, I still have curves and a bit of a tummy, but I feel really good in this dress.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New fashion options

  1. Flo says:

    You look great! 🙂

  2. Melissa says:

    You are crushing it, WTG! How about comparing the above photo with one from last year at this time?

  3. Pingback: What a difference a year makes | Coming Around Again

Leave a Reply

