Boobage bondage

I’m sure I could have come up with a better title for this blog post, but it made me laugh. 🙂

My topic?  Sports bras.  Unglamorous yet essential.  During my first 11 months of weight loss, my main forms of exercise were Zumba & walking.  I made do with cheapo multipack sports bras from Target or Walmart.  White, stretchy, and hard to pull off over your head when you’re sweaty – but they did the job cheaply and reasonably effectively.

But I knew that if I was going to start running, I would need something more supportive.  So in December I ventured out to Jo Karen Lingerie in Acton, since they were the closest local stockist of the Enell sports bras I had heard so much about.  Enell bras are designed to provide incredibly firm support for large-busted women.  But they are not cheap, so I wanted to try one on in person, rather than mail-ordering it.

The saleswoman was incredibly patient and helpful.  As a bigger busted active gym  member herself, I liked that she could provide tried and tested personal recommendations.  She brought me the Enell to try, but also several other brands (mostly European) that I had never heard of.  In person, I found the Enell incredibly constricting – I couldn’t breathe in it, never mind run!

My favorite ended up being the one the saleswoman preferred, the Moving Comfort “Fiona”.  It’s a nude/bronze color, which means I can wear it under any color shirt.  It does a great job of holding my boobs down without being uncomfortable.  It has easy to adjust velcro straps, and a back hook and eye closure which makes it much easier to take off than the ones you have to pull over your head.  So far it is washing and wearing well.  I’m very impressed, and will be back soon to buy a second one so I don’t have to rush to do laundry in between workouts!

Last week I mistakenly wore one of the old multipack sports bras to the gym, where I attempted to run.  It really cramped my style!  I ended up running with my arm pinned cross my chest in an attempt to stop the jostling!  Not an attractive look.  I’ve learned my lesson, never again.

Recently I participated in a focus group about sports bras, which was fascinating.  The women taking part in the group had very wide-ranging opinions about what makes a good sports bra.  To my mind, the sign of a good one is that you don’t actually think about it when you’re wearing it.  It does its job and frees you up to concentrate on your performance.  When you’re wearing a bad one, on the other hand, that is chafing or not providing enough support, you can’t think about anything else!  I’m so glad I’ve found a style and brand that works for me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Boobage bondage

  1. Great info! I was just discussing this with Jess on FB.

  2. Kate Noodle says:

    I went to Jo Karen Lingerie for a sports bra to wear horseback riding and had the same incredible customer experience. I did buy the Enell (my girls don’t DARE move inside that baby!)…along with 4 other bras for everyday support. I never thought I could get so excited about a new bra but finding ones that fit perfectly really does change your life!

Leave a Reply

