“You’re the inspiration”

(hands up anybody else who is a secret fan of that cheesy 1980s Chicago song.  Anyone?  Bueller?  OK then, just me LOL)

But seriously, how chuffed was I to read this blog post and discover that my friend Jess, who is one of those hardcore people who gets up at 4am to run 6 miles along a beach in the darkness, was initially inspired to start running by little old moi?  It just goes to show, you never know what impact something mundane you say or do could be having on someone else.

Talking of running, I am making good progress towards my 5k-in-May goal.  I’m now up to running at a 5mph pace and can sustain that for 5 songs (about 18-19 minutes) before I need a water & walking break.  My 5k time squeaked below 40 minutes on my last run.  I think the new sneakers are really helping.  I’ve had no more leg cramps since I switched to them.

Unfortunately the armband isn’t working out so well; in fact, it’s become a huge source of annoyance.  The cover is so tight that it pushes down on the volume buttons, and there is nothing more frustrating than your phone changing volume mid-song.  Plus it gets incredibly sweaty underneath, and it’s hard to find the middle ground between falling-off-loose and so-tight-it-fees-like-a-blood-pressure-cuff.  I’ve finally decided that sweat proof wireless headphones are the way to go instead, and they just arrived in today’s mail.  Let’s hope they fix the problem!  I will report back.

My weight is fairly stagnant in the 158 range.  To be honest, I’m eating maintenance points, not losing points, so I have nobody to blame but myself.  It’s hard to keep the enthusiasm going after 13 months – I just want to be done.  However, I am equally sick of paying Weight Watchers $40 for the privilege of hanging out 3 lbs above goal, so I guess I need to get with the program….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “You’re the inspiration”

  1. I love that song! I practically grew up in a roller skating rink and that was a popular slow skate song. Since Jess was inspired by you, let’s see if I can be inspired by her.

Leave a Reply

