The cliché of resolutions

The predictability of recommitting to weight loss on January 1st is not lost on me. It feels so cliché that I have been reluctant to talk about it on my regular Facebook page, for fear of just seeming like one of the many people who make big plans on New Year’s Day, only to fall off course in a matter of days. Yet, like most stereotypes, there are valid reasons that lie behind why this time of year is a popular one for hopping on the self-discipline bandwagon.

  • After weeks of holiday parties, big meals and feeling sluggish, we are all ready for some cleaner eating.
  • The process of putting away Christmas decorations, throwing out the tree etc. always leads me to want to tidy up and get organized in other areas of my life too.
  • The extended period of time off work gives me the opportunity to stock the kitchen with healthy foods, prep good meals, and make it to the gym.
  • That feeling of a clean slate that comes with starting a new calendar.
  • Reviewing the past year makes it obvious where I am succeeding and where I need to make some changes.

So, rather than put off what needs to be done because I don’t want to be a sheep, I will just quietly get on with doing what I need to do. I look forward to reviewing 2015 in 12 months’ time and feeling proud of my progress.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The cliché of resolutions

  1. So happy to see you blogging again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

