Snowy days and Mondays always get me down

I live in central MA, and we have been getting hammered by winter weather lately.  Over 5 feet of snow in the last two weeks!  Our Monday night community group has been canceled for 3 weeks in a row due to snow.  We are running out of places to put it all!

With the snow comes a lot of disruption to our usual schedule.  School is canceled, we must attempt to work from home or juggle childcare responsibilities between me and my spouse, and it can mean long days trapped inside with frayed nerves.

I’m realizing just how frequently food is my default coping mechanism for stress, boredom, tiredness or frustration. Learning how to rewire my brain to do something else other than eat when I experience uncomfortable emotions is the hardest part of this weight loss journey.  It’s not the tracking, the measuring or the cooking that get me down, it’s retraining myself not to reach for food to soothe, comfort, calm and nurture me.

I can so relate to this Weight Watchers commercial:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

