A lot can change in a month

Q: How do you make God laugh?
A: Tell him your plans for the future.

I’ve always loved that joke, but rarely has it seemed more applicable than in the last few weeks. Ever since we emigrated to the US 15 years ago, we have loved living in Massachusetts and really had no intention of ever moving. We spent two days being tourists in New York City last Christmas, and if you had told me then that within a year, we would be back there looking at homes, I would have laughed in your face!

However, my husband was recently offered the job opportunity of a lifetime… in NYC. With that, my whole world has been upended. Weight loss has been about the furthest thing from my mind. I have been preoccupied with figuring out living arrangements, researching school systems, and preparing to be a single mother during the week for the next 9 months while my husband commutes up and down to New York.

This level of uncertainty and upheaval will be my new normal for the foreseeable future.  If I don’t want to end up being the size of a house, I have to figure out how to control my stress levels, make exercise a priority, and not eat my feelings.  The year ahead is going to be a challenge, in ways I can only imagine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

